Ch-ch-changes

Hello friends!

(Well, maybe you’re strangers but for all intents and purposes of this post: I consider you friends.)

At this moment in time, I am staring at a pile of clothes at the foot of my bed that need to magically make it into the boxes waiting downstairs. You got it: I’m packing…and I will be the very first to admit that this whole packing process and I have a love-hate relationship.

"All my bags are packed, I'm ready to go..."

“All my bags are packed, I’m ready to go…”

See, here’s the deal; at six days away from move-in, I’m in what can only be described as “the gap-type limbo thing” that has me swinging like a pendulum between feelings of excitement and sentimentality. The anticipation of new adventures in Toronto is overwhelming, but at the same time I’m reflective and nostalgic of the life I have here at home. So tonight, I’d like to compare the top 4 things I will miss about home, and the top 4 things I’m most excited for once I leave home.

1a. The ever-present famjam

It’s inevitable that I’ll miss my family. Sure, they drive me berserk sometimes because we’re 5 VERY different people living under one roof, but I genuinely enjoy their company. They are the quirkiest, most loving group of people I could ever be related to, and I’m so thankful for that.  I will miss how my mom makes up songs when she’s feeling silly, or how she’ll pull on my hair and start the “There was a little girl, who had a little curl…” rhyme. I will miss cooking with my dad (did I mention that I LOVE to eat?!) and talking in-depth about politics and vaguely about science (The first is my forte, the latter is his). I will miss comparing music and bad jokes with my brother, and having my sister around as the best ally and storyteller the world has ever seen.

"Family Portrait"

“Family Portrait”

1b. A different dynamic.

Once I move, I’ll be gaining a lot of independence (duh). My parents will not constantly be asking who I am texting, my siblings will no longer be able to steal my belongings and attempt to pass them off as their own (Kate, I left the white scarf for you. You’re welcome.).  I’ll be starting a different, more self-sufficient adult relationship with them. I’ll still come home for my brother’s Friday Night Lights football games (TROJAN FOOTBALL REPRESENT!) and I’ll still be the loudest cheerleader at my sister’s dance recitals. Plus, I’m closer to extended family, and that gives me a chance to build relationships with them on my own terms, rather than in between servings of potato salad at family reunions. The time that I spend with the people I love will be well-thought out and even more meaningful than before.

2a. I can’t believe I’m saying this…Work.

Until tomorrow at 9:15 pm, I work in a grocery store. The job itself isn’t particularly exciting, but the people are. I have THE best co-workers, they are incredibly supportive and fantastically entertaining. I’ve worked at the store for 4 years, and I couldn’t have asked for a better crew. I will miss my crazy customers; from the ones who repeatedly tell me I look like Taylor Swift (it’s the hair) to the ones who call me Kerri  when my name tag clearly spells “Kiera”…It’s nice to have people like you just because you smile at them…if only all things were that easy!

2b. WORKING IN MY FIELD!

At Glendon, I’ll be part of a Research-Mentorship program. Assisting a professor in the field of “Cultural Diversity in the West” will give me an opportunity to take what I learn in the classroom and apply it to the most current research…my geek is showing, but I’M SO EXCITED I DON’T EVEN CARE ABOUT LOOKING COOL!

A world of opportunity

A world of opportunity

3a. Familiar Faces

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again; everyone knows everyone in this town. Figuratively, of course, because 45 thousand names would be a brain-buster. However, I’ve grown up and gone to school with a lot of the same people since birth. The comfort that comes with knowing someone a long time is something really special and unique. I will always run into people I know wherever I go, and a friend is never far away.

Some good friends on a good day

Some good friends on a good day

3b. New connections

The diversity of people at Glendon just blows me away…and I haven’t even set foot on campus! Through online networking, the uniqueness of my classmates is so evident, and yet I find the coolest things in common with them! I can’t wait to make new memories and be changed by these amazing new friends. Shout-out to Hilliard E-floor, the A-team, anyone in International Studies and Poli Sci….and all of #GL2017

Make new friends, but keep the old; one is silver and the other,  gold!

Make new friends, but keep the old; one is silver and the other, gold!

4a.  Trojan Tradition

I’ve rooted for the Trojans (school team) for SEVEN YEARS. Can you believe that? I was part of a program that housed grade seven and eights at the local high school. After that, I took my four years and added a fifth to take more classes and decide what I really wanted to do after graduation. I sported maroon and grey with the best of them, joined a ton of clubs, developed great relationships with students and staff….I always felt like I belonged there.

An old Student Council photo...I'm the one saluting!

An old Student Council photo…I’m the one saluting!

4b. Lionhearts Legacy

I get to root for a whole new team. I get to speak French whenever I want and NO ONE WILL LOOK AT ME LIKE I HAVE THREE HEADS. I get to join new clubs and start off anonymous and grow into whatever role I create for myself. I will have new profs and teachers that have different things to show me, different perspectives I haven’t even considered yet!

Last December, I was talking to a guy who had recently moved from my town to Toronto to go to college. He waved a finger at me and stared me straight in the eye, saying, “Toronto will change you.” The thing is; I’m not SCARED of that. I want that change! I am ready for it to change me and shape me into the person I want to be. The only constant is change, right? So why not embrace it and give it a little faith? I believe that the best is yet to come.

– K

p.s. Thanks to Phil for help with changing theme and format…IT LOOKS SO PRETTY! You’re a gem.

Leave a Reply

