Home sweet home: Why every first year should live on campus

Salut mes amis!

As I write this, my floor is celebrating our friend Lindsey’s birthday, and there is an intense amount of outfit swapping and singing and visits all around. And as I write this, I realize that there is no other way I could have enjoyed first year this much so far without living in residence. So here is my very own TOP 3 REASONS YOU SHOULD LIVE IN RESIDENCE.

I love this place :)

I love this place 🙂

It’s convenient.

*Storytime!* My dear friend Veronica has just moved down the hall from me this past weekend. Previously, she lived in Etobicoke and was a commuter student here at Glendon. Poor V found that even though she technically lived in Toronto, the trips to and from school wasn’t worth the money she thought she’d be saving by living at home. Commuting, while reasonable for some people, isn’t really the way to go (in my humble opinion). Living on campus means you are less than 5 minutes walk to anywhere on campus. Classes are close and if you forget a textbook, it’s easy to run back on break and return without breaking a sweat. Food is always on hand with the cafeteria, Revvup, and Tim Horton’s. You have no excuse to not have time to exercise when the Glendon Athletic Club is steps away. Overall, you spend less time travelling and more time participating in all there is to offer on campus. Which brings me to point #2.

I write for Pro Tem, Glendon's bilingual newspaper. It's nice to know the office is located just downstairs!

I write for Pro Tem, Glendon’s bilingual newspaper. It’s nice to know the office is located just downstairs!

You’re in the loop.

As a resident, you become so much more involved in campus life. You have more time on your hands without the added travel time, so it’s easier to be involved with more clubs and other aspects of campus life. I feel like I’m more informed about events on and off campus, and the inner workings of the school. I know who to go to with questions or concerns, and I have a great community that I’m a part of….which brings me to my final point.

My residence floor is La Maison Bilingue, so crêpe nights are a lovely opportunity to get involved in residence and campus life!

My residence floor is La Maison Bilingue, so crêpe nights are a lovely opportunity to get involved in residence and campus life!

It’s social.

You will never ever ever ever EVER feel alone if you live on campus! Not only are you steps away from tons of cool people, but there are social events planned by the Residence Life committee. This past week we had Don Sweets (get it?! It’s so punny!), where all residences travelled from Don to Don to collect goodies from different countries. It’s like Halloween for big people! There is someone who’ll go for coffee with you, and always someone who’s willing to split a pizza and spill life stories. However, if you’re not a social butterfly, that’s cool too! Rez is as interactive as you want it to be, because you can shut your door to the world and recharge whenever you need to. I’ve met some great people in rez, and love that they’re there when I want them to be, but we all live our separate lives as well.

My floormate leaves me the sweetest messages to find when I'm hungry! Also, Journey lyrics that relate to my blog theme....well-played, Linds.

My floormate leaves me the sweetest messages to find when I’m hungry! Also, Journey lyrics that relate to my blog theme….well-played, Linds.

SO. If you’re doubting whether or not you should move into residence, doubt no more! I know that residence seems pricey, however it is TOTALLY worth it! You’re investing in an experience and friendships you might not otherwise have. That, my friends, is totally rad.

Send me your questions and comments, and in the mean time, DFTBA 🙂

– K

One thought on “Home sweet home: Why every first year should live on campus

Leave a Reply

