Small school, big safety net

I am the classic “Oh Em GEE it’s September, school is starting and I couldn’t be happier” type of nerd…

I love new possibilities, opportunities, knowledge, and friends. I always, without fail, look forward to the first week of classes.

However, my first week back at Glendon did not go as smoothly as I would have hoped. It was chaotic and nerve-wracking, and yours truly was being a class-act flopshow.

Starting university, I had always intended to be a double major in International Studies and Political Science. However, being the-girl-who-wears-many-hats, the thought of committing and specializing in two things suddenly felt overwhelming to me and self-doubt started to rear it’s ugly head.

“What if I just had a major? Should I do a certificate? God forbid I want to study neuroscience….”

Me, in MLP form

Myself embodied in My Little Pony form

In short, I had major FOMO (fear of missing out), people.

By the numbers…

4. The times I had dinner on my roommate’s floor, wondering what the heck I was going to do with my degree/life.

6. The amount of timetable changes I made within that week.

3. The number of times I called home, where my all-too-supportive and lovely parents told me that as long as I graduated, the rest was up to me and they would be proud.

28. That’s how many times I played Taylor Swift’s “Shake It Off”. Adorable awkward dancing? Sassy, can-do attitude? TOTAL FREAKING EARWORM?! Check check check.

I’m now in week 3 of my studies and doing much better. Why? Because being a Glendon student saved my sorry, confused butt. Being at a small school meant that I had immediate, personalized, one-on-one sensitivity and support.

help1

I chose to see the head of the Political Science department, Dr. Ian Roberge, and Professor Francis Garon about my future in the program. Not only they super supportive and always looking out for my best interests, but during our conversations I realized I really do still love Poli Sci – I love the balance of power, the causes of conflict and conditions of peace. I undoubtedly still adore my work as a Research Assistant in the field, and my volunteer work with other political and activism groups.

politics-word-cloud

When figuring out how my timetable should reflect my revised goals, I went to see Erica, an academic advisor with a contagious smile and a calming attitude. She helped me check off degree requirements while still preparing me for my international exchange and giving me some wiggle room to add electives or specializations.

Financial services also helped a ton – they made sure that I wasn’t penalized for dropping any courses or adding new ones, and that I could rest assured that my fees were paid and I was financially sound to continue my studies.

Every penny counts when you're a student - Glendon Financial Services knows that, and will make sure you're on the right track to getting the most bang for your buck

Every penny counts when you’re a student – Glendon Financial Services knows that, and will make sure you’re on the right track to getting the most bang for your buck

If I hadn’t been at Glendon, having an academic identity crisis would have been totally overwhelming. I was so lucky to be in a place where people from all walks of life had my back, lead me towards invaluable resources, and were supportive of my questioning of my future. My experience was a positive one, which I don’t think I ever could have expected such a great result. Small school, big love ❤

DFTBA,

– K

Leave a Reply

