The world could potentially be my oyster…

As an iBA (international bachelor of arts) student, I’m required to spend at least one semester abroad as part of my degree. 

Last week, the process for exchanges opened upWOOHOO! York International and the Glendon Exchange department came to present us with the application process, requirements, and the possible locations and schools we could study at. 

Needless to say, I’ve spent many hours day dreaming since.

I am equal parts excited and terrified

I am equal parts excited and terrified

The Dream:

Université Libre de Bruxelles (Brussels, Belgium), starting September 2015

I could see myself living here, couldn't you?

I could see myself living here, couldn’t you?

(other possibilities include Institut d’Études Politiques de Strasbourg (Strasbourg, France) and MICEFA – Mission Interuniversitaire de Coordination des Echanges Franco-Americains (Paris, France)

I visited Strasbourg 4 years ago, and fell in love

I visited Strasbourg 4 years ago, and fell in love

I could also live in the most romantic city in the world...the possibilities!

I could also live in the most romantic city in the world…the possibilities!

The Plan:

Maintain a 6.0 GPA (B or 70% average), acquire two academic reference letters, and succeed in a French proficiency interview.

I'll be hitting the books from now on!

I’ll be hitting the books from now on!

The Motivation:

Without a nod to the restless, anywhere-but-here, wanderlust-stricken travel bug that I’ve caught…

I’d be able to study what I love in a different environment and from a totally different perspective. Just imagine what politics and world issues mean to a European class compared to a North-American one!

…Not to mention I’d be living and studying in my second language, with a whole new dialect and accent than I’m used to. On top of that, a new culture to adapt to! Can’t you see it? CHAMELEON KIERA: The Europe Years

I hope to make new friends overseas and strengthen old friendships in the process. I have a ton of friends in France, Germany, Belgium, and the Netherlands that I’ve met over the years that I hope to see again, and as for my Canadian friends – nothing tests a friendship like a year of Skype-dates between different timezones!

So many places, so little time!

So many places, so little time!

I have to go through the application process before Christmas break, but I won’t know the final results until the end of this school year. Until then, it’s up to me to prepare my butt off! If that means sticking a map of Belgium on my laptop to motivate me to study harder, so be it. On my study breaks I will reward myself by looking at apartments with my possible future roommate. I will save my pennies to buy a new camera to capture my future adventures…

This time next year I could be writing to you from across the Atlantic…until then, dreams be dreams.

DFTBA,

– K

P.S. A lot of my Glendon friends have been on exchange or are currently overseas themselves! Check out their blogs below.

Gillian was a student at ULB in Brussels last year! http://gillianwassgl.wordpress.com/category/exchange-2/.

Michelle was on exchange to Ireland… http://michellekgl.wordpress.com/category/exchange/

Elizabeth partook in an exchange to Strasbourg. http://elizabethbgl.wordpress.com/category/exchange/

Jen is currently spending her days in Middelberg, in the Netherlands! http://jennifercgl.wordpress.com

 

Leave a Reply

